At Little Explorers Nursery and Preschool the children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. 

The children are constantly encountering new experiences and seeking to understand them in order to extend their skills, develop their confidence and build on what they already know.

The foundation stage is continued in reception classes in primary school. The foundation stage is based on seven areas of learning.

> See our Ofsted Success

Contact us

    Four Specific Areas


    The children will learn to link sounds with letters, develop writing skills, and become familiar with books and text.


    Your child will develop an understanding of mathematics through counting, sorting, matching, seeking patterns and making connections. We will encourage learning about numbers, shapes, space, and measures through games and activities.

    Understanding the World

    Children in this area of learning are developing skills and understanding that help them to make sense of the world around them. This forms the foundation for later work in science, history and geography. They will find out about past events in their own lives and those of their family. They will also find out about different cultures and beliefs.

    Expressive Arts and Design

    Children will be encouraged to express their thoughts, ideas and feelings, imaginatively using a wide variety of different materials and equipment including sand, water, paint and music.